High adrenaline challenge for Children’s Hospice fundraiser @jigsawhospice

A local girl is taking park in a high adrenaline skydive fundraising event this Easter to support the care provided to children and young adults with life limiting illnesses.

Amelia Southern, from Penny Bridge, will be flying through the skies at 15,000ft on Saturday 4 April in aid of Jigsaw, Cumbria’s Children’s Hospice. The high octane and exhilarating tandem skydive will provide Amelia with a fundraising challenge that she will never forget.

Amelia explained, “I have chosen to support Jigsaw, Cumbria’s Children’s Hospice because I think that it is a fantastic organisation which supports and looks after sick children. I hope to follow a career which will involve caring for children within the medical profession therefore supporting this charity seemed the perfect choice.

“I decided to do a skydive as I wanted to do something that would put me out of my comfort zone and challenge me, something these children face daily.”

The money raised by Amelia will help the Cumbrian charity to provide care, support and activities to children and young adults with life limiting illnesses. This care and compassion is extended to all of the children’s families, friends and carers.

Amelia continued, “I am most looking forward to the feeling of free fall whilst taking in the surroundings on hopefully a clear day.

“I think that the part of the jump I am least looking forward to is the jump from the place itself as looking down at the ground 15,000ft below me will be scary.”

To date the kindness and generosity of Amelia’s family and friends has helped to raise over £1,100 towards her £1,200 fundraising target. If you would like to sponsor Amelia as she flies through the sky please visit http://www.gofundme.com/n27mvc

Jigsaw is also encouraging daredevil fundraisers to take part in the every own fundraising skydive to support the Children’s Hospice. On Saturday 29 August the Cumbrian charity will be hosting its annual fundraising skydive event at the North West Parachute Centre, Grange-over-Sands. If you would like to release your inner superhero and fly through the skies please contact the Fundraising Team on 01228 817613 for more information.

Skydive EVH and Jigsaw

Comment