Local fundraiser runs for Children’s Hospice #hospicerunners

This September a local man will be joining over 55,000 runners on start line at the world’s biggest half marathon and he will be running in aid of Jigsaw, Cumbria’s Children’s Hospice.

 

Graeme Nixon, from Carlisle, will be completing the iconic Great North Run to support the care and activities provided to local children and young adults with life limiting illnesses. Jigsaw, Cumbria’s Children’s Hospice, formerly Eden House Children’s Hospice, have a handful of places remaining for the 13.1 mile challenge through Newcastle and are encouraging the local community to sign up for the event.

 

Graeme explained, “I decided to enter the Great North Run because having already completed the Cumbrian Run I felt it time to try a different challenge and also the fact that my friend coaxed me into doing it was another reason. By fundraising for Jigsaw I could see what monies I raised being put to good use in my home town.”

 

Every year the world famous half marathon attracts thousands of fundraisers each with their own purpose and reason for running and this year a team of 20 runners will be lining up on the start line in aid of Jigsaw, Cumbria’s Children’s Hospice and Eden Valley Hospice.

 

Graeme continued, “I am most looking forward to the atmosphere. Without doubt running over the Tyne Bridge will be a special moment, and sharing that moment with so many people too will be amazing.

 

“I am always training, I left the armed forces in 1995 and since the Cumbrian Run in 2007 I hadn’t ran at all. Since then I have always tried to keep fit, so I stopped smoking three years ago. My wife, Sarah, and my son, Gabriel, give me encouragement which is always helpful when you don’t feel like going out for a run.”

 

All of the money raised by Graeme and the team of Jigsaw, Cumbria’s Children’s Hospice, runners at the Great North Run will allow the Children’s Hospice’s passionate team of nurses to reach, care for and support families from throughout Cumbria with life limiting illnesses. With a handful of places remaining Jigsaw and Graeme are encouraging your to pull on your running shoes and support the Children’s Hospice.

“I always find when I tell people that I am taking part in the Great North Run they say ‘I don’t know how you could do that, I couldn’t, and I always say to them, how do you know you couldn’t just try. You don’t have to be the quickest, just completing it is a feat in itself and think of the achievement. Instead of sitting on your backside, thinking of how you couldn’t run a half marathon, just prove to yourself that you can and do it!” Concluded Graeme.

 

Jigsaw, Cumbria’s Children’s Hospice is also encouraging people who have already secured a place in the Great North Run to fundraise for the Children’s Hospice at the half marathon challenge. If you would like to sponsor Graeme as he completes the Great North Run in aid of Jigsaw please visit www.justgiving.com/Graeme-Nixon

If you would to join Graeme and help to make a huge difference to the lives of local children and young adults with life limiting illnesses by running in the Great North Run 2014 please contact the Jigsaw Fundraiser Emma Marshall on 01228 817656 or visit www.jigsawhospice.org.uk/gnr

 

Comment